111 Emergency Words Ambulance Fiction

IMG_1376

Seeing the ambulance parked outside is disconcerting. I never called it. It just sits there. And waits. What’s it waiting for? The engine idles, splutters, and cuts into silence. I watch them but they look away. The doors open and close. Open and close. Boots rumple my beautiful garden. Sound bounces around my front lawn. Clackity stomp. Rattle. Squish. The birds take flight. Flapping for freedom. Why have they come? They knock but I don’t answer. They try the handle but the door doesn’t open. They come in anyway. Hide-a-key not so hidden. Drag mud through my hallway. I turn and see them shake their heads as they take my pulse.

Leave a Reply

