The Dream Team by Mary Little

I’ve been doing this job two years. That’s a long time.
I like my job. I like catching criminals. Sometimes I find lost people. Sometimes I find evidence. But I like catching criminals most.
That’s my partner, Gav. He’s my best mate. I’m his best mate.
Gav taught me some Māori. I know ‘haere mai’ and ‘e noho rā’. And there’s my favourite, ‘ka pai’. I like ‘kai’ too but I like ‘ka pai’ most.
Gav says I’m the best at my job. Gav says we’re the dream team. Gav says I’m top dog.
Here’s Gav now.
“Ready to go to work, Peach?”
“Ae, Gav.”
“E noho rā. Good boy, Peach.”

Twitter

One thought on “The Dream Team by Mary Little

Leave a Reply

